Clip to Evernote    Print this page


Heimskringla by Snorri Sturluson

Heimskringla was written by Snorri Sturluson c. AD 1225. It consists of a collection of sagas concerning the various rulers of Norway, from c. A.D. 850 to c. A.D. 1177.

The following sagas are included in this work:

The Ynglinga Saga
Halfdan the Black Saga
Harald Harfager's Saga
Hakon the Good's Saga
Saga of King Harald Grafeld and of Earl Hakon Son of Sigurd
King Olaf Trygvason's Saga
Saga of Olaf Haraldson
Saga of Magnus the Good
Saga of Harald Hardrade
Saga of Olaf Kyrre
Magnus Barefoot's Saga
Saga of Sigurd the Crusader and His Brothers Eystein And Olaf
Saga of Magnus the Blind and of Harald Gille
Saga of Sigurd, Inge, And Eystein, the Sons of Harald
Saga of Hakon Herdebreid (Hakon the Broad-Shouldered)
Magnus Erlingson's Saga

N.B. The translations available on line are older versions, now out of copyright. If you wish to read a modern translation, I recommend this version here…




Previous page: The Prose Edda
Next page: Contacts in the Viking World