Clip to Evernote    Print this page

The Kingdom of Man and the Isles

From the 9th to the 13th centuries the Kingdom of the Isles consisted of the Hebrides, the islands of the Firth of Clyde and the Isle of Man. These islands were known to the Norse as the Suðreyjar, or "Southern Isles" to distinguish them from the Norðreyjar or "Northern Isles" that is, Orkney and Shetland.

The historic record of the Kingdom is incomplete, although it is apparent that was not a continuous entity throughout the entire period.


Previous page: Tynwald Hill
Next page: The Vikings in Norway